Mullen/Spector/Truax Women's Leadership Award

Expand all

Eligibility Requirements

Women faculty or staff members who have been at the University of Minnesota (systemwide) at least three years. For the 2024-2025 award cycle (nominations due Friday, June 28, 2024), we will be accepting staff nominations.

Nomination Process

University of Minnesota faculty, staff, or students may make nominations (self-nominations accepted). Individuals nominated but not selected may be re-nominated for subsequent years. Nomination materials must be received by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, June 28, 2024.

A completed nomination packet must include the following items:

  • One letter of nomination (a narrative describing how the nominee meets the criteria) (preferably under 500 words)
  • Two letters of support (preferably under 500 words)
  • Nominee’s resume or curriculum vitae

Email Nominations to: [email protected] with the subject line M/S/T Women's Leadership Award

Selection Criteria

Nominees are evaluated on the basis of a narrative and letters of support documenting their outstanding contributions - that go above and beyond their daily responsibilities - in developing leadership in women. Applications should focus on nominees' contributions to University women, although their contributions to women in the community can also be included. We especially encourage applications that highlight nominees' contributions to serving underrepresented women.

The narrative should provide:

  • Evidence of the nominee’s efforts (outside of their job description) to develop leadership in women
  • Two or more specific examples of contributions to developing women's leadership, commitment to collaboration, and advancing gender equity across identities. Examples could include:
    • Distinguished program creation that helps University women faculty, staff, or students build skills and/or knowledge essential to success
    • Policy or procedural changes that improve leadership opportunities for University women
    • Creation or improvement of community initiatives that reinforce and expand advancement and leadership opportunities for women
    • Outstanding one-to-one mentorship in developing leadership in other women  
  • Details regarding the impact and scope/audience of these contributions


This award honors Patricia Mullen, Janet Spector, and Anne Truax for their contributions to women at the University of Minnesota in their positions in Equal Opportunity Affirmative Action, the Center for Advanced Feminist Studies, and at the Minnesota Women’s Center, respectively.