Ada Comstock Distinguished Woman Scholar Award


This prestigious award has been established to acknowledge and honor the scholarly accomplishments of distinguished women faculty at the University of Minnesota and to offer a forum for them to share their insights and ideas with a campus and community audience. One scholar from the sciences or engineering and one scholar from the humanities, arts, or social sciences will be selected to present a lecture on alternating years. The 2019-2020 scholar will be selected from the sciences or engineering, and the program will be held in fall 2019.


At the annual Ada Comstock Distinguished Women Scholars Award Program, the awardee delivers a lecture on her scholarly work for the general public. The awardee is presented with a specially selected piece of artwork created by a Minnesota woman artist.


The Women's Center will not be accepting nominations for the 2019-2020 academic year, but plans to re-open the award nomination process for the 2020-2021 cycle. 

This award is sponsored by the Women's Center with support from the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost and University of Minnesota Libraries.

Contact: Women’s Center, Office for Equity and Diversity, 612-625-6039